Singita Community Culinary School – Rwanda

A unique program that serves to fulfill a real need in the community, as well as for the Rwandan hospitality industry as a whole

Offering a rigorous, Singita-crafted professional cookery course that sees young people from local communities graduating as commis chefs of the highest calibre, there are three Singita Community Culinary Schools (SCCSs) – located in South Africa, Tanzania and Rwanda respectively. Admission into the programme is competitive and graduates emerge with highly sought-after skills and strong employment prospects.

  • 2007: SCCS opens at Singita Kruger National Park
  • 2015: SCCS opens at Singita Serengeti
  • 2021: SCCS opens at Singita Volcanoes National Park in Rwanda

From 2021 onwards, all three schools will offer the same internationally recognised Worldchefs certificate – a curriculum that combines the grounding of theory with intensive practical training. Graduates proceed to an internship programme and receive job placement support, while exchanges with local and international kitchens are also available. The Singita Community Culinary Schools constitute a significant step towards achieving Singita’s long-term community development goal of assisting the families that live in and around the reserves to thrive – both economically and socially.

The third Singita Community Culinary School (SCCS) was established in Musanze, Rwanda in July 2021. Singita Kwitonda Lodge and Kataza House’s proximity to a major town opened up the possibility of partnering with a local institution of higher learning, enhancing the sustainability of the programme and deepening our relationship with the communities in which we operate.

How does it work?
How can I support this project?

Community Culinary School – Rwanda


Conservation Partner

Volcanoes National Park Conservation

Other Community Projects

AllSouth AfricaZimbabweTanzania
AllSouth AfricaZimbabweTanzania

3 Focus Areas of Conservation